National Hispana Leadership Institute - Celebrating 20 Years of Latina Leadership Search
Member Login
NHLI Home Page
About NHLISponsors
Current Fellows          ::         Graduates of the Institute         ::          Alumnae On the Move          ::          Alumnae Log-In
Alumnae on the Move

Alumnae on the Move


Congratulations to our alumnae for their accomplisments in 2010.


  • ALL In (Advancing Latina Leaders in Nonprofits)
  • ELP (Executive Leadership Program
  • LLL (Latinas Learning to Lead)

Mary Lou Jaramillo Mary Lou Jaramillo (ELP ’91 ) president of El Centro, Inc. in Kansas City, Kansas received Othli Recognition from the government of Mexico for her contribution to the empowerment of the Hispanic community.
Marguerite Salazar Marguerite Salazar (ELP '92) was appointed as Director of Region VIII (Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming) at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Marguerite will play an important role in the department's effort to implement the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.
Gloria Muñoz Gloria Muñoz (ELP '97) was named Director of the Housing Authority by the Board of Supervisors of Maricopa County, Arizona.
Rachel Rios Campos Rachel Rios Campos (ELP ’99), was promoted to the Director of Juvenile Operations for the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, Division of Juvenile Justice. As Director, Rachel will oversee Juvenile Parole, Juvenile Facilities, Juvenile Programs including the Superintendent of Eduction, the Integrated Behavioral Treatment Model, the Medical and Mental Health divisions and the Court Compliance.
Marisa J. Demeo Marisa J. Demeo (ELP ’01) was confirmed as Associate Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia for a 15 year term. She was nominated by President Obama last year.
Lorraine Cortés-Vázquez Lorraine Cortés-Vázquez (ELP '01), former New York Secretary of State joined AARP as Executive Vice President for Multicultural Markets and Engagement.
Catherine Torres Catherine Torres (ELP ’03), became President of the Puerto Rican Bar Association, Inc. based in New York and will be promoting the advancement of Puerto Rican and Latino attorneys in the legal profession.


Marisel Herrera-Anderson Marisel Herrera-Anderson (ELP ’05), published a book entitled, “Puerto Rican Goldilocks: A Lyrical Journey Through El Barrio”.


Natasha Bannan Natasha Bannan (ELP ’06), was appointed as Editor-in-Chief for the New York City Law Review (at CUNY School of Law), co-chair for the National Lawyers' Guild's Sub-Committee on Puerto Rico and student representative to NLG's International Committee.


Virginia Madueño Virginia Madueño (ELP ’06), was elected and is currently serving as Mayor of the city of Riverbank, California.


Lisa Pino Lisa Pino (ELP '06), Deputy Administrator, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, Food and Nutrition Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, was inducted into the Hispanic Scholarship Fund Alumni Hall of Fame
Alexis Ruiz Alexis Ruiz (LLL '07) was selected to participate in the 2010-2011 Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute’s fellowship program. She is currently at Service Employees International Union.


Angela Anderson Angela Anderson (ELP ’07), walked the Camino de Santiago de Compostela in April and May and is now the director of the Center for Metropolitan Chicago Initiatives for the Institute for Latino Studies at the University of Notre Dame.
Virginia Gonzales Virginia Gonzales (ELP '07) was named Vice President of Operations in the Central Zone at State Farm Insurance Companies.
Marisol Miller Marisol Miller (ELP ’07), received a Doctorate of Education (Ed.D.) in Educational Administration and Supervision from Arizona State University, with a specialization in Bi-National, International and Global Issues in Education.


Ann-Gel Palermo Ann-Gel Palermo (ELP ’07), was promoted to Assistant Professor in Pediatrics and Medical Education, and had an article published in the American Journal of Public Health (August 2010 issue).
Aida Nieto Aida Nieto (LLL '08) was selected as an Archer Fellow for the 2010 Fall Semester at Amnesty International.
Helen Arteaga Helen Arteaga (ELP ’10) received the American Dreamer Award from NYC Mayor Bloomberg. Arteaga serves as director of Urban Health Plan, Inc.
Aurelia Flores

Aurelia Flores (ELP '10) was selected as a 2010 MillerCoors Líderes.

Lisette Nieves Lisette Nieves (ELP ’10), Executive Director of Year Up NYC, was selected by Mayor Bloomberg to serve on the City of New York’s Panel for Education Policy. The panel takes part in the governance of the City School District of the City of New York. Lisette Nieves was also invited to join the White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanics.
Julie Rodriguez Julie Rodriguez (ELP ’10) became Executive Director of the Bessemer Historical Society, Steelworks Museum of Industry and Culture, and the CF&I Archives, the only museum and organization of its kind in the country dedicated to the preservation of the steel industry.
Jenn Sanchez

Jenn Sanchez (ALL IN ’10) became the Immigration and Refugee Initiative Director for the United Way of Salt Lake.

Alumnae in the News

Marisa J. Demeo
Ruth Lugo
Judith Canales
Judith Canales
Marisa J. Demeo
Marisa J. Demeo
Ruth Lugo (ELP ’91) Judith Canales (ELP ’92) and Marisa J. Demeo (ELP '01) made the list of Hispanic Business Magazine's The 100 Influentials, Spotlight on Thought Leaders (October 2010).
Sindy Benavides
Sindy Benavides
Annette R. Martinez
Annette R.
Sindy Benavides (ELP '09), Director of Community Outreach & Voting at the Democratic National Committee (DNC), and Annette R. Martinez (ELP '02), Vice President of Operations-Human Resources at State Farm Insurance Companies, are featured in the Women of the Year April edition of Hispanic Business magazine as Women of Excellence
Sylvia Orozco
Maria Teresa (Petersen) Kumar (ELP '04), Executive Director of Voto Latino, Vanessa Cardenas (ELP ’10), Director of Progress 2050 at the Center for American Progress, Aurelia Flores (ELP ’10), founder of, and Sylvia Orozco (ELP ’10) were selected as 20 Latino Leaders under 40 by Poder Magazine. 
Maria Antonieta Trejo
Maria Antonieta Trejo


Latino Leaders magazine's Fifth Annual Latina Edition features DC metro alumnae: Michelle Minguez Moore (ELP '09) Vice President, Business Development and Client Services of the Ibarra Strategy Group, Maria Antonieta Trejo (ELP '06), Senior Congressional Advisor in the Bureau of Legislative Affairs of the U.S Department of State, Alejandra Ceja (ELP '05), Chief of Staff to the Under Secretary of Education, Sindy Benavides (ELP '09),  Director of Community Outreach & Voting at DNC, and Monica Villalta (ELP '08), Director of Diversity Programs, Mid-Atlantic States at the Kaiser Foundation Health Plan. Click here to access the edition and scroll to pages 56-63 to view their pictorials.


Got a promotion? Just completed your degree? Or have other exciting news to share? Keep NHLI up-to-date. Click here to share your news.